Puppet Costume Part 4: Boots

I’ve finally finished making the puppet’s boots! I think this is about the most complicated thing I’ve ever made. They are 19% of life size. After making the pattern and cutting out the pieces, which is shown in my previous post titled Puppet Costume Part 3: Boot Pattern, I sewed the pieces of the uppers together.

One boot upper is together and the other is in progress.

One boot upper is together and the other is in progress.

Once the uppers were completed, I sewed on the sole.

This process was very slow and tedious. My goal was to have the seam of the upper turned under. To accomplish this I sewed it together loosely first. Then I slipped the boot onto the puppet's foot and tightened the stitches one by one using a very tiny crochet hook.

This process was very slow and tedious. My goal was to have the seam of the upper turned under. To accomplish this on such a small scale, I sewed it together loosely first. Then I slipped the boot onto the puppet’s foot and tightened the stitches one by one using a very tiny crochet hook.

Once the sole was in place, I added the waxed embroidery floss laces by stitching them in place. Then I made heels out of sculpey and hot glued them in place.

Once the sole was in place, I added the waxed embroidery floss laces by stitching them in place because grommets don’t come this small. Then I made heels out of sculpey and attached them with hot glue.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Puppet Costume Part 4: Boots

  1. Rhissanna February 20, 2013 at 12:02 pm Reply

    Wow. I am in awe. What beautifully neat little boots.

  2. Moona February 21, 2013 at 10:43 am Reply

    You are amazing Christiane!! You always have been! ❤

  3. curlypawscandice February 25, 2013 at 6:56 am Reply

    brilliant!

Leave a Reply

