Making a New Puppet

I’ve been working on more storyboards and had a moment of clarity about the beginning of Seed in the Sand.  I’ve been struggling with the idea of doing green screen to add myself as the Masked Woman to a scene including the animated characters for the opening sequence. It just didn’t sit well. It’s easy to write in the script, but hard to make look seamless and beautiful with no budget.

Then after making the post about Jan Svankmajer the other day and taking a look at Alice again, I watched little Alice turn into a doll and the solution became obvious.  I need to make a puppet to match the live action Masked Woman. No green screen needed.

My schedule currently allows only two days a week with enough uninterrupted time to animate, but I’ve got lots of little bits of time available to work on other things. So, this is what I will be doing with the rest of my free time.

For those of you who are interested in what goes into making an animatable puppet, I will be documenting the creation of the doll, step by step, here on this blog!

Here is a photo of the live action costume to be recreated for the puppet:

The Masked Woman's Costume

The Masked Woman’s Costume

And here are a couple of the storyboards where the Masked Woman will be a puppet now:

Here is the Masked Woman walking into the dead forest.

Here is the Masked Woman walking into the dead forest.

The little creature is looking down from his nest to see what the Masked Woman is doing.

The little creature is looking down from his nest to see what the Masked Woman is doing.

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Making a New Puppet

  1. deniserbear December 14, 2012 at 9:51 am Reply

    Thank you for sharing some of your creative process with your fans! I have been fascinated with puppets and stop motion animation since my earliest memories. I had my first puppet show at age 10 … made all my own puppets from scratch materials 🙂 You’re a singular talent, Christiane! I look forward to more blogs … Admiration from a fellow Oregonian. Bear 🙂

    • Christiane December 28, 2012 at 8:08 pm Reply

      I’m glad to hear that you like my blog! Thanks for your comment. I was 10 when I made my first animation. I guess there’s just something special about that age.

Leave a Reply

